Monday, September 27, 2010

Shades of Milk and Honey - next review online

0 comentários
I was delighted to receive on my mailbox last week an hardcover copy of 

Mary Robinette Kowal's  Shades of Milk and Honey. 

I have been so looking forward to read this book that I am almost deciding to put down the first chapter of Crown of Stars that I've started to re-read two weeks ago. I am loving the Crown of Stars, again, loving it even more this second time, I think but I'm so excited about my new book that I might leave the re-reading of the series for another time. Please forgive me Kate Elliot. Anyways, you can expect a review on Shades of Milk and Honey really soon on this blog. Have you read it, any spoiler free opinions on the book?

Friday, September 03, 2010

Shrapnel: Hubris (Series Trailer)

2 comentários

Mark Long & Nick Sagan return to take a planetary revolution across the solar system in the sequel to the hit series Shrapnel: Aristeia Rising

Consumed with advancing their War of Unity on multiple fronts, the Solar Alliance may be vulnerable to an audacious, high-risk assault on one of their most valued possessions. So rests the hopes of oppressed Helots across the System as a plot against the oldest extraplanetary colony moves forward. Once loyal marines now turned freedom fighters, Captain Narayan, Colonel Rossi and their troops have a golden chance to slow down the enemy war machine...but at what cost?

Radical Premier: Mata Hari

0 comentários
"Radical Publishing continues to build a name for itself with edgy projects and a surprising talent roster that includes Nick Sagan (whose father, Carl, was kinda into astronomy), Shrapnel; Nick Simmons (son of some guy named Gene Simmons), Incarnate; Wesley Snipes and Antoine Fuqua (director, Training Day), After Dark; and many others." Read the entire review for the Mata Hari comic bellow.

Radical Premier: Mata Hari

Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine: 30th Anniversary Anthology

1 comentários

"A truly extraordinary sampler of tales.... Every piece in this superlative collection is a nugget of pure science fiction gold."
-Publishers Weekly, starred review
This anniversary anthology presented in chronological order showcases 30 years of excellent stories published in the legendary magazine, Asimov’s Science Fiction. Asimov’s Science Fiction was founded in 1977. As one of science fiction’s most influential and prolific writers, Isaac Asimov wanted to provide a home for new SF writers—a new magazine for young writers could break into. Asimov’s Science Fiction remains that home, as well as the publisher of some of the field’s best known authors.

Lumina (Sarah Lawrence College) Non-fiction Contest

0 comentários
Deadline: 15 November 2010
Eligibility: no restrictions
Reading/Application Fee: $10
Accepts (genre): non-fiction (essay, memoir, biography)
Prize/Payment: $500

Start submitting your fantastic nonfiction of any kind! Essay, memoir, biography--anything goes, as long as contest judge Vivian Gornick approves.

These guidelines are posted for your reference only.

First prize: $500, plus publication in LUMINA
Second prize: $100
Third prize: $50

(All contest entries will automatically be considered for regular publication.)

Deadline: November 15, 2010.

Entry fee: $10 per submission (up to two entries per author). Make check or money order payable to LUMINA, and mail it to:

Sarah Lawrence College
Slonim House
One Mead Way
Bronxville, NY 10708-5999

You must also email your entry to The subject of your email should be “SUBMISSION — CONTEST.” Write your email address on your check so that your entry can be matched to your payment.

General guidelines for submissions:

1. We accept only email submissions. Send all emails to Paper submissions will not be considered or returned.
2. The subject of your email should be “SUBMISSION” + the category of your work, e.g. “SUBMISSION — POETRY” or “SUBMISSION — ART.”
3. Please send manuscripts in a Microsoft Word 2003-compatible (.rtf, .doc) or OpenDocument (.odt) format. We are unable to read files with the extension “.docx”. For art submissions, image resolution should be 300 dpi.
4. Please include a three-sentence biographical statement with your submission.
5. Poets may submit up to three poems, 60 lines maximum per poem.
6. Fiction and nonfiction writers may submit up to two pieces, 5,000 words maximum per piece. Please double space and number pages. Our policy is blind submissions; your name should appear on the front page only and will be removed prior to review.
7. Previously published works will not be considered. If your work is selected by us, rights will revert to author after publication in Lumina; subsequent publishers should credit us for first appearance.
8. Simultaneous submissions are considered as long as we are notified immediately if the work is accepted elsewhere. Once we have accepted a piece, we assume that it will be published by us.
9. We reserve the right to publish some of the pieces of each issue on our website.
10. We reserve the right to edit submissions for style, grammar, and length. Non-standard English must be integral to the idea of the piece to be considered acceptable.
11. We strongly recommend that all foreign-language submissions be accompanied by an English translation.
12. We reserve the right to crop, edit, or otherwise modify art submissions to meet our printer’s specifications.

More information here.

Friday, August 20, 2010

Ray Bradbury Rejects eReaders

0 comentários
Ray Bradbury Rejects eReaders

Thursday, August 19, 2010

A Lovecraft Dream - short animation movie

0 comentários

Cthulhu Week: The Tentacles That Bind by Eric Pollarine : An Homage to LOVECRAFT's Birthday

0 comentários
Did you know that H.P. Lovecraft was born on August 20th in 1890? We love him and our homage to his work has just begun!  Here is a great article written by the reviewer Eric Pollarine for Flames Rising. Read on: 

"Next up for Cthulhu Week is a little something from Flames Rising reviewer Eric Pollarine. Eric takes a look at some of his favorite fiction, music and movies and talks about how these folks have been influenced by H. P. Lovecraft and just what that means to him as a horror fan."

Read the article at Flames Rising 

Michael Komarck does TOR's e-book cover for THE KNIFE OF DREAMS on the WoT

0 comentários
I love the WoT ( you might have figured it already) but the one thing I never liked about it was the first Orbit's covers. If I did not know the books were amazing before seeing those covers I would never picked those books up from a bookstore shelf. The covers look childish and I truly have no patient for young adult fantasy books ( My apologies to all Harry Potter and such fans but I just can't stand that type of fantasy literature - in my book, fantasy literature is a very serious and profound type of  art, the characters and plots always so rich and meaningful, bringing us the memories of lost values and imaginary realities that I cannot compute with schools of wizardry and teenage dragon tamers- big respect to the authors but not my cup of ale ). Anyways, so you just have an idea of the type of covers Orbit did for WoT that I dont like, here is one example:

Although those Orbit covers for the first Wheel of Time books are considered collectibles nowadays, I just don't like them. Now the "new" Orbit covers I really love, they can make even the most demanding fantasy reader wonder about what's inside those black mysterious covers. Here's one :

But enough about the past and lets focus on the present. Tor is publishing the e-book versions of the entire WoT saga and is inviting great fantasy digital artists to do them. This post is intended as a praise for the new Knife of Dreams e-book on Tor, by the artist Michael Komarck. It displays Min and Rand Al Thor battling one of the forsaken, Semirhage. Don't you love it?

Here's an excerpt from Tor's article about this cover :

Knife of Dreams, volume eleven in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time, will be available in ebook form on August 24th. In celebration of Jordan’s work, we have commissioned fourteen artists to interpret one of the Wheel of Time books in their own style. (Previous editions can be seen here. The first seven ebooks can be purchased here.)(...)"

"At this point in the series Rand’s physical and mental stability is breaking down. Komarck’s tight composition and unconventional angles make the viewer feel that imbalance. Komarck engages you by making you feel slightly uncomfortable, almost wishing you could take a step back to regain your composure." 

To see more of Michael Komarck’s illustrations visit his website.

Trailer: Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal

0 comentários

On our To Read List...the author's description of the book is delightful and so is the trailer. I am in love.
Visit the official website here Shades of Milk and Honey

Win a Free ARC of Joe Abercrombie's THE BLADE ITSELF

2 comentários

The blogger at Fantasy Hot list is offering an Advanced Reading Copy of the Joe Ambercrombie's new book, The Blade Itself. Here is an excerpt  from the blog post advertising this offer : 

 "Thanks to the folks at Subterranean Press, I have one ARC of the limited edition of Joe Abercrombie's The Blade Itself up for grabs! For more info about this title: Subpress.

This from Subterranean Press:

The ARCs contain the full-color illustrations by Alexander Preuss, including a pull-out gatefold of the endsheets, the first time we can recall having included them in an ARC in this fashion.

The rules are the same as usual. You need to send an email at reviews@(no-spam) with the header "ABERCROMBIE RULES." Remember to remove the "no spam" thingy. "

View the original post here :

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Looking for Contributions

0 comentários
If you're a fantasy writer wanna-be, a fantasy book publisher, a fantasy blogger, book reviewer or especially if you are the master fantasy book geek of the entire universe,please get in touch with us now.
We are all in for networking offers, book submissions from authors and publishers, interviews, link exchange , doing guest blogging whatever that makes this place a community based spot where everyone can try and share content, ideas, suggestions.
Send us your articles, your conspiracy theories about the political issues of the Empire on Star Wars, show us a philosophical dissertation on the emotional struggles of the first elves to walk the Middle Earth and never got to Valinor; whatever, you got the point. If you feel like sharing, do it.
We do not promise we will write reviews on every book sent to us or publish every guest posts and/or articles and/or stories but we welcome and are happy and thankful for every submission. email us @

Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Who Wants Some Free Books?

0 comentários

James at Speculative Horizons is being invaded by his pile of to read books and he is giving away a few of them. The offer is global and all you have to do is email James and wait for him to select the winner, randomly. Take a look at the giveaway page and good luck. The books on offer are :

Wolfsangel by M. D. Lachlan (ARC)

The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi (ARC)

The Thief-Taker's Apprentice by Stephen Deas (ARC)

Dog Blood by David Moody (MMPB)

The Japanese Devil Fish Girl by Robert Rankin (ARC)

Go try your luck at Speculative Horizons 

Saturday, August 07, 2010

How to Become a Mars Overlord - Short Story

0 comentários
The LightSpeed magazine of Fiction features some great free fiction, check out this one by the author, Catherynne M. Valente. She is also the author of over a dozen works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest (a finalist for the 2010 Hugo Award), the Orphan’s Tales series, and the crowdfunded phenomenon The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Own Making, which won the Andre Norton Award. How to Become a Mars Overlord is a scifi short story that you can read or listen to at the above link: How to Become a Mars Overlord

Thursday, July 29, 2010

Gorgeous "Best of HP Lovecraft" Cover by Harkham House

0 comentários

Dunwich Horror and Others, the BEST of LOVECRAFT
Harkham House 

The respectfully amazing  publishing company Harkham House , with a little over 70 years of age as an independent cult publisher of the best books in the  (...)" general field of fantasy, perhaps with emphasis on the macabre or science-fiction (...) " is one of my favorite houses of all times. I just love this cover they did for their publishing pillar HP Lovercraft, a perfect homage to his weird pulp fiction words.

This publishing house played a major role in keeping Lovecraft  alive in the American literature world, continuously reprinting editions of his books, while introducing the audience to new talents.

  " AH published its first book, The Outsider and Others by Lovecraft, in 1939.  More than sixty years and 200 books later, Lovecraft remains on the center stage of its success while introducing fans to new authors to the world of the macabre, fantasy, and horror. (...)  The works presented by AH over the years would excite the likes of Lovecraft and his fellow pulp fiction authors. "

I am trying to get some of their books for review and also to get an interview with some of their representatives and hopefully you will be hearing  a whole lot more about these icons, in the future. Stay tunned.
older post